Skip to content

Gaelic – a Celtic Language

Six Celtic Countries, Six Celtic Languages

There are six existing Celtic languages and Scottish Gaelic (Gàidhlig) is one of them. The others are Irish Gaelic (Gaeilge), Manx Gaelic (Gaelg), Cornish, Welsh and Breton.

Gàidhlig, Gaeilge and Gaelg are the three modern Celtic Goidelic or Gaelic languages that originated in Britain and Ireland.

Breton, Cornish and Welsh are called Brittonic languages.

Celtic languages were spoken throughout much of Western Europe in Roman and pre-Roman times.

Today they are spoken mostly in the British Isles and in Brittany, an area in north-west France.

Celtic Languages

The Celtic nations, where Celtic languages are still spoken today, or where they were spoken into the modern era.

The Celts in Europe